Daddy, I Want a Golden Goose…Egg

For those of you who remember the old Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, you know exactly what I’m referring to!  For those of you who don’t, well, you’ll just have to take a look at this here video.  ;-)  And enjoy!

The truth is, I thought of this easy, five-minute craft, and the title of this blog post right before I went to bed the other night, and there was no way that I could pass it up!  If you stopped by my blog yesterday, you probably saw this post where I made a little egg-scene underneath a glass dome.  If you didn’t see it, here’s Exhibit A.

{Inspiration Affirmation}
See that little egg in there?

{Inspiration Affirmation}
Here’s the deal.  We’ve got several gold/brass accents in our living room.  A lamp, a mirror, a gilded wishbone print on the wall…you get what I’m saying.  I loved the idea of having a little glitz on my egg…just to make it a little more fit for our space.

So, out cam my trusty Rub n Buff.

{Inspiration Affirmation}
Love this stuff, pretty much obsessed with it.  It’s so easy to use, and it’s quick to dry — it’s basically the perfect product.  Think of it like a cross between paint and…and…ointment?  I know, that’s totally weird.  But it’s true!

I grabbed a tissue from the bathroom…

{Inspiration Affirmation}
And I squeezed out just a tiny amount of the Rub n Buff on the tissue…a little goes a long way, people!

{Inspiration Affirmation}
Then, you just do what the title of the product says — I RUBBED the product on the little egg and it BUFFED itself out.  It gives whatever you’re putting it on a nice, smooth, metallic finish.

{Inspiration Affirmation}
WEE!  Instantly, it becomes a golden goose egg.  Why didn’t Veruca Salt think to make one herself?

{Inspiration Affirmation}
See?  Instantly gilded egg.  At no cost, I might add.

{Inspiration Affirmation}
See my brass lamp back there?  (Target)

{Inspiration Affirmation}
And there we have it.  You may also notice that I lined my lucite tray from CB2 with some fabric.  Don’t worry, no glue or adhesive spray was involved — it’s just laying there.  But I think it looks pretty.  :-)

If you would like to see another Rub n Buff project that has appeared here on the blog, check out what I did with the product + a small clear vase!

Have you attempted or completed any projects with Rub n Buff lately?  Are you all decorated for Easter?  I can’t believe it’s only a week away!

Inspiration Affirmation Signature

2 comments

  1. Pingback: From Old to New | Inspiration Affirmation
  2. Pingback: A Touch of Coral | Inspiration Affirmation

Leave a Reply

