Butternut Squash Skillet Mac & Cheese

Yesterday was the first day since Fall has begun that it was actually pretty chilly!  I found myself layering my clothes, burning my favorite pumpkin candle, and feeling the urge to make a heavy Fall meal for my hubby and I.  So, to my Pinterest boards I went, and I found this recipe for a Butternut Squash Skillet Mac and Cheese that did not disappoint.

Butternut Squash Skillet Mad and Cheese - Inspiration Affirmation
Thankfully, my husband did all of the butternut squash prep for me while I took care of the other ingredients for this recipe.  Cutting, peeling, cubing — I was lucky to have him around because, sheesh, the toughness of a butternut squash is no joke!

Butternut Squash Skillet Mac and Cheese - Inspiration Affirmation
This particular recipe that we followed is supposed to be a “lightened up” version.  But ours was not so light.  I added quite a bit more of the fontina cheese, a tad more Parmesan, and double the breadcrumbs.  We try to eat healthily most nights of the week so we splurged a bit last night.  ;-)  And you know what?  It was worth it.  The base of the sauce is the butternut squash that is simmered in the pan and then mashed.  I was pleasantly surprised that the taste was not sweet, but nutty and full-bodied.

Butternut Squash Skillet Mac and Cheese - Inspiration Affirmation
At the very end of the sauce preparation, a drizzle of a couple tablespoons of browned butter adds so much flavor!  This was my first time making browned butter, and I loved watching the frothy color change from light yellow to golden.  Like magic!  :-)

Butternut Squash Skillet Mac and Cheese - Inspiration Affirmation
Topped with a little extra cheese and the breadcrumbs, baked for 15 minutes, and broiled for 2, this was positively delicious.  I served my husband those extra crispy parts — he loves crunchy cheese.  ;-)  Happy Friday!

Inspiration Affirmation Signature
Linking up!

 

52 Mantels


// <![CDATA[
document.write('’);
// ]]>
Leave a Reply

